Antony's Art Logo

576 Simcoe Street North, Oshawa, Ontario

The Group of Seven

Sometimes known as the Algonquin school, was a group of Canadian landscape painters from 1920 to 1933, originally consisting of Franklin Carmichael, Lawren Harris, A. Y. Jackson, Frank Johnston, Arthur Lismer, J. E. H. MacDonald, and Frederick Varley. Later, A. J. Casson was invited to join in 1926; Edwin Holgate became a member in 1930; and LeMoine Fitzgerald joined in 1932.

Two artists commonly associated with the group are Tom Thomson and Emily Carr. Although he died before its official formation, Thomson had a significant influence on the group. In his essay The Story of the Group of Seven, Lawren Harris wrote that Thomson was "a part of the movement before we pinned a label on it". Thomson's paintings The West Wind and The Jack Pine are two of the group's most iconic pieces. Emily Carr was also closely associated with the Group of Seven, though was never an official member.

Believing that a distinct Canadian art could be developed through direct contact with nature, the Group of Seven is most famous for its paintings inspired by the Canadian landscape, and initiated the first major Canadian national art movement.